Scientific Name:

Equus Zebra Zebra


Cape Mountain Zebra


Mainly The Eastern Cape.


South Africa


The Mountain Zebra (Equus zebra) has 2 sub-species.
The Hartman’s Mountain Zebra (Equus zebra hartmannae) and the Cape Mountain Zebra (Equus Zebra Zebra).

The Cape Mountain Zebra was the first Zebra that was discribed. It was encountered for the first time in the Swellendam area,very close to Cape Town itself.
It was named by Carl Linnaeus in 1758.